Being shy; and how to overcome it

Ever since I became an “adult”, I started becoming conscious of myself, my limits and how I stacked up against the competition. I decided that I was not that good and stopped right in my track and did something else for many years. I had become too shy to even sing to my wife a capella. Now, what to do about it? Honestly, I don’t know, but I am taking steps to overcome it.

I follow a few people on Twitter and on Google plus that seems to “get it” when it comes to social media and creating a fan base. I can see that they’re putting their faces out there, they’re doing something, almost every day and I can see that they attract people that seems to like what they’re doing. So, why do I believe I can’t and how can I overcome it?

The key to success is action” is what a lot of successful people will tell us and I know deep within that it is true. But being shy makes taking action a little bit harder. Anyway, this blog is my first step at sticking my neck out and exposing myself. I have a lot of plans for the future: Posting videos on Youtube, being more active on social media, interacting with people (or fans) and so on.

When I think about all the musicians and bands I know of, there are a lot of different talent. Some are awesome guitar players, others are awesome singers, others are both and some are neither. The difference between them and me is that they’re out there doing what they love with what they have and I haven’t. The more I think about it, the more I know I will make it.

I’m not talking about making it big. I don’t need huge, I just need to feel fulfilled and accomplished and to do what I’ve been dreaming about since I was a young, hopeful boy.

The big question, for me at least, is: How do I overcome my shyness? I’ve been thinking about this for a while and as I mentioned earlier, I think a lot of it comes down to Just Doing It! Jumping head first into that scary monster of all those unfounded fears of being ridiculed, not being good enough, not hitting it big and all the other terrible reasons we use as excuses to becoming more of who we really are and should be.

Google

Steeg on the road to Madison Square Garden.

About kekePower

42 Separated 1 child Unemployed Studying life Waking up Into: * Trance * Dubstep * Computers * Linux * Open Source Software * Sci-Fi * Personal Development * Personal Finance
This entry was posted in Blog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Being shy; and how to overcome it

  1. Pingback: Getting over my stage fright | The Road to Madison Square Garden

Leave a Reply

